Oregon DUI First Offense and Diversion

You’ve been arrested or cited for DUI. You’ve never been in trouble before. This is your first DUI. You want to know what’s going to happen. What are the penalties and consequences? You’ve heard about diversion. What does that mean? How can that help you deal with the DUI?

You’ve Come To The Right Place.

We Can Help.

Oregon DUI First Offense and Diversion

First DUI Offense in Oregon: What is Diversion?

Most drivers in Oregon who receive their first DUI are eligible for what’s called “diversion.” Oregon’s DUII Diversion Program allows drivers to enter a guilty plea to DUI, but to later have the case dismissed. The diversion program is 12 months long. It requires drug and alcohol treatment and a period of sobriety. But there is no jail, probation, community work service, or house arrest required. Therefore it’s a very popular program. Read more about diversion on our Oregon DUII Diversion page.

First DUI Conviction in Oregon: What are the Penalties?

If you are not eligible for diversion, there are penalties and consequences for a conviction. For example, jail, probation, fines, community work service, electronic monitoring, house arrest, and a driver’s license suspension are all possible. The penalties vary wildly from county to county and depending on the facts of your case, but here are some guidelines:

  • 80 hours of community work service, or 48 hours in jail
  • 12-18 months of probation (bench or monitored)
  • A one-year driver’s license suspension
  • Drug and alcohol treatment
  • A $1,000 fine

“Do I Need An Attorney for My First DUI?”

It doesn’t hurt. Ideally, any criminal charge punishable by jail and significant expense should be looked at by an attorney. To be sure, meet with an experienced DUI attorney to understand your possible defense, and understand what you are pleading to. Most DUI attorney don’t charge for consultations. Give us a call. We’d be happy to help.

Scroll to Top
Call Now Button