Hillsboro Oregon DUI Attorney

Have you been arrested for a Hillsboro DUI charge? Hillsboro DUI charges are Washington County DUI cases, and we handle Washington County DUI cases.

Hillsboro Oregon General Information

Hillsboro, Oregon is the fifth-largest city in Oregon and the county seat of Washington County. The population is just under 100,000.

Hillsboro does not cite DUI charges into municipal court or justice court. Therefore, if you received a DUI in or around the city, your charge will be handled at the state level.

Hillsboro Police Patrol Car

Hillsboro Oregon DUI Enforcement and Arrests

The primary law enforcement agencies responsible for Hillsboro DUI investigations, enforcement, and arrests is the Hillsboro Police Department. The department consists of over one-hundred sworn officers.  Other police agencies that may patrol, arrest, and issue citations for Hillsboro DUI cases include–but are not limited to– the Oregon State Police and the Washington County Sheriff’s Department.

Hillsboro Oregon DUI Jail Service

Drivers arrested for DUI in Washington County will typically be booked into the Washington County Jail and– if later convicted of DUI and ordered to serve jail time– will also serve their jail there as well.

Hillsboro Oregon DUI Cases

A DUI case in or near Hillsboro will typically be handled by either the Washington County District Attorney’s Office and proceed through the Washington County Circuit Court. Most first-time DUI offenders in Hillsboro will be eligible for Oregon’s DUI diversion program.

In some cases, a stop west of Hillsboro could be referred for prosecution to the Multnomah County District Attorney’s Office and proceed through the Multnomah County Circuit Court.

Hillsboro Oregon DMV Hearings

If you were arrested for DUI and failed a breath test or refused a breath test, the Oregon DMV will attempt to suspend your driving privileges. The length of suspension can be 90 days to 3 years depending on your history and whether you blew or refused. In order to avoid this administrative driver’s license suspension, you must request a hearing within 10-days of the date of your arrest.

If you elect to have an Implied Consent hearing— often called a DMV Hearing— the hearing location won’t be affected by which city or county you’re in, but rather where the nearest hearing location for the Office of Administrative Hearings is located. A DUI in Washington County will usually have the Implied Consent hearing held in Tigard.

Michael Romano - Oregon DUI Attorney

Hillsboro Oregon DUI Attorney Michael Romano

If you’ve been arrested for a Hillsboro DUI charge, or if you were issued a DUI citation in Hillsboro, Romano Law, P.C. can help. We have offices in downtown Portland and we offer no-cost, no-obligation initial consultations in-person, by phone, or by video conference.

Call Romano Law, P.C.


Scroll to Top
Call Now Button